House Rules
The WARP House Rules

House Rules

The more you play Cosmic Encounter, the more you realize that the rules do not begin to cover every situation that can arise. Debate over a rule or conflict in powers can not only bog down a game, they can turn friends into enemies (I have seen it happen). In an effort to put some disputes to rest (if only so you can finish a game), I have compiled some house rules that my group has agreed upon (if grudgingly).

For any other situation not covered, the following formula is recommended:

  • Attempt to apply the timing rules, if possible
  • Game owner proposes a ruling, all players vote, owner breaks ties.
  • Game owner just decides how it's going to work that time, someone else buys their own copy of the game for next time.

    The following is a compilation of house rules clarification for play, powers, moons, and cards.
    Some rules may only apply to Eon style play. These clarifications are only suggestions, and by no means should be considered final word (heated discussion is welcome and encouraged).

    General Play

    A challenge begins with the release of a token from the Warp.

    A flare can be played multiple times during one challenge unless otherwise specified. (Eon style)

    Gaining a base as an offensive ally (or defensive in Reverse Cone challenges) is not considered a "reward", and as such is not subject to a Cosmic Gas edict.

    The offensive player MAY continue a challenge with no tokens, if he were, say, tortured out by the Wrack. This precedent established by Amoeba power.

    The value of the tokens in the cone is not restricted; their number is. (But Macron STILL can't bring more than one.)

    Players should not be considered under obligation to remind others to use their mandatory powers (e.g. Assassin, Vulch). (But should with Macron, Virus, etc.)

    All Flares are voluntary regardless of the underlying power.

    Acquiring a new power in a game in progress

    If the new power conflicts with a power already in play, then it is discarded, and a new one is drawn. The corresponding flare is not added to the deck (if it is not already in there).

    Ending the game

    The game does not offically end until that particular phase in the challenge is over. Therefore, all other players may attempt to do whatever they can to avert the win.

    Determining Defensive Player

    Destiny pile signifies system attacked as well as player. We sometimes use an optional rule of JUST having the system determined.

    If you have 5 bases in one system and all the moons in that system as well (and the game is not over yet because of Overtime Moon or Schizoid), you must pass In two player games, both players may attack anywhere they have a legitimate challenge.


    The rules regarding consolation state "Receive one card for each token lost in the challenge." Not "tokens that end up in the Warp." Therefore, if you lose the challenge with a compromise, you collect consolation regardless of where the tokens end up (Warp, Void, back on bases, etc.), even if you are the Zombie.


    This is the practice of showing other players what cards you hold (when not otherwise forced to do so). This is not allowed in our CE games. Nor do we allow "I will play a compromise card if you do". The game is more exciting if you do not know if the other player is thinking what you are thinking.

    Allies can communicate generally, but specifics are improper.

    Information you've acquired about someone's hand for example can't be sold except as a side-deal during a deal.


    Power loss is immediate upon loss of third base, before the tokens even go to the Warp.

    Yes, the Amoeba can ooze entirely out of the cone (which means he's attacking with zero tokens added to the total; with zero tokens at risk; and if he wins, zero tokens will occupy, so that despite having had a successful challenge, he wouldn't gain a base.)

    Yes, the Anti-Matter and his opponent ADD Lucre to their totals (Eon games).

    In Eon-style games, you may not select the Keeper edict or the Aristocrat Flare to start the game.

    On occasion, the Assassin player is faced with a Destiny Card that leaves some ambiguity about who is defensive main player. The Wild Destiny Card allows the Assassin to pick anyone as his target, regardless of who is chosen by the offensive main player. Similarly, when the offensive player is faced with a decision (i.e. "Make a Warp challenge...") the Assassin may choose a victim based on the choices at hand. For example, in the above special destiny, if there is a tie between red and yellow for the most tokens in the warp, even if the offensive player chooses red as the defensive main player, the Assassin may target either red or yellow to lose a token.

    When against the Boomerang, the Boomerang challenge precedes the offensive Assessor's tax deal. (Eon style)

    If you have no tokens on bases, you need not pay the Assessor, since it specifies "from base." (Eon style)

    Does NOT reveal the Miser's hoard. (Aura specifies regular hand.)

    No, the wild Aura may NOT "shuffle the deck as often as he likes in order to get a card he likes on top." He must shuffle, THEN reverse. (Eon style)

    When against Assessor, Boomerang challenge precedes Assessor's tax deal. (Eon style)

    If you attack Boomerang, and during his pre-emptive attack on your system you use your power, it is still considered the same challenge when you resume your attack on him. Therefore, if you have a power that can only be used once per challenge, you may not use it again after Boomerang attacks you (if you use it during his attack). For example, if you are Trader, and trade hands with Boomerang when he attacks you during your turn as offensive player, then you may not trade hands again when resuming your portion of the challenge as offensive player.

    Can't force co-occupancy of a moon.

    DOES count as "any other player" when flipping for the Dictator.

    CAN position the cone where the deadbeat offender already has a base; so long as a legitimate challenge can be made there (e.g. there is another player there and it is the offensive player's home system).

    Calculator power precedes Wild Calculator, Excise Moon, etc., due to the "revealed as" wording. (But Wild Calculator-Excise conflicts are resolved by the conflict resolution rules, based on the position of the players).

    Against Deuce, Calculation is performed on Deuce's first card, and his side card is figured in afterwards. Insect w/ Wild Calculator vs. Calculator: Whether the Insect's Calculation by power or by flare occurs first depends upon the order in which he plays them.

    Can NOT play a Kicker when using his power, nor does the main player's Kicker affect the Cavalry's Challenge Card. When playing the Cavalry Wild or Super Flare, any Kickers affect each Attack Card played by allies of the player who played the Kicker.

    When drawing for "divine intervention", if a Kicker is drawn before a Challenge Card, the first Kicker drawn applies to the Challenge Card eventually drawn. When playing the Super Flare, the Chosen player may also keep any Reinforcements drawn.

    Yes, the Changeling's change is "permanent." (i.e. does not revert at challenge's end)

    Decides which power to take when playing with multiple powers for each player.

    Chronos' victims' kickers are put aside with their challenge card, and returned with the challenge card at the challenge's end.

    Against Deuce, only the Deuce's first card is put aside. The second may be picked up and played again as the first or second card.

    Yes, the Visionary can tell Chronos what to play the second time around.

    The Wild Chronos affects only the first PHYSICAL flip of the disc, so if someone flips his own color and passes and flips again, the Chronos can't affect that flip. (Eon style)

    Does NOT keep any Kicker played.

    The Crystal can force the Macron to bring 1-4 tokens.

    A challenge cancelled by the Super Crystal's arrangements does not count as one of a player's two challenges.

    The Crystal acts on each player as or after he or she enters the cone (it's option) and affects the Wild Doppleganger players similarly (as to number).

    Involved in challenge, includes as ally.

    If Victory Boon is played after an attack with the Wild Demon, only the defensive player picked is rewarded.

    No, the Wild Demon never lets you pick yourself as the defensive player.

    Against Chronos, only the first card is set aside. The second may be picked up and played again as the first or second card.

    The Laser selects only the first card.

    The Deuce's Kicker affects only the main card. The other is then added to the kicked first card.

    When the Deuce only has one challenge card, and thus must draw a new hand, the one challenge card is discarded with the rest.

    The Sorcerer may not switch the side card.

    It must be an attack (if possible) if the Loser has called an upset.

    The Oracle may NOT look at it. The Visionary MAY perceive it.

    Against Calculator, the Deuce's side card is figured in after the totals (including Calculation) are arrived at.

    Witch's curses affect the side card as appropriate (e.g. All your attack cards are worth 2.)

    If a player's turn ends due to lack of challenge cards, he MAY use the Wild Deuce to take another challenge, at the beginning of which he discards his old cards and takes a new hand.

    Yes, the Dictator may force a player to attack where he already has a base, so long as there is another player there to defend; any other player if it's the Dictator's victim's home system; or the player whose system it's in if it's any other system.

    Yes, the Butler counts as "any other player" even when flipping FOR the Dictator.

    Alternate version of Dictator.



    House rule suggestion: If you want to let Doppleganger keep Flares/Kickers normally, make super "Can buy 2 cards for 1 lucre (4 card maximum)". (Eon style)

    May keep Kickers. (Eon-style)

    If Doppleganger's defensive victim runs out of challenge cards, he must draw a new hand; the Doppleganger may not force the card he rejects back upon him to prevent him from doing so. If his offensive victim runs out of challenge cards, that victim's turn ends, and Doppleganger discards those cards.

    When Silenced, the Doppleganger is required to draw from the deck, unless another player offers and he accepts. (Eon style)

    The Crystal affects the Wild Doppleganger normally.

    You do not receive an extra 4 Lucre for becoming the Dragon later in the game than the beginning.


    Stellar Gas stops Ethic's consolation.

    The Extortionist may never profit from another player's Wild Filching. Either he catches him and all the cards go back, or he doesn't, and thus can't extort. (Eon style) This also applies to Subterfuge cards.

    The Miser's Hoard, but not his regular hand is immune.

    The Negator may negate another's decision to catch him Wild Filching, as can the Silencer silence another player trying to catch him. The Extortionist can't profit from another's Wild Filching, as, if he admits to having caught the Wild Filch, all the Wild Filch's acquisitions return to the deck.

    No, Wild Filch may NOT steal Lucre. (Eon style)

    Filch does NOT take opponent's Kicker Card.

    Wild Filth may not be used against moons; super may.

    When the Filth Power changes hands, everyone sharing bases with the new Filth must evacuate, of course.

    May limit, but not negate powers.

    If the Wild Fungus is used against the Fungus, any Fungus stacks count as one for the Wild Fungus player (and the stacks return to the Fungus if the Wild card is lost). Likewise, if the Wild Schizoid is used against the Fungus, any Fungus stacks count as one for the Wild Schizoid (and remains a stack until broken in the warp).

    The Gambler sees his opponent's card before bluffing.

    Yes, the Super Gambler may put more tokens at risk than he has out of the Warp.

    Gambler may also keep his Kicker secret with his Challenge Card, and he may lie about them both.

    The spread in the Gambler Wild Flare is figured after the effects of Kickers.


    The Healer can heal tokens from the Void.

    When the Hurtz leases a moon, it is put in the leaser's system. Since it will go away at the end of the challenge, Immediate moons are probably more useful than others.

    Yes, Hurtz can advertise, but no, he may not let others look through the deck(s) or read things over before renting them. The deck is shuffled after he looks through it; he gets no special knowledge of what's coming up -- he's no Aristocrat or Wild Mind.

    Officially, in a single-power game, a power rented from Hurtz becomes your sole power. For example, if you were the Mutant, and rented the Reincarnator, and you lost, you'd draw a new power and keep that, discarding the Reincarnator and the Mutant.

    Insect will cause power effects to take place more than once. Therefore, if Insect calls "time travel" against Chronos, the Chronos player must set aside the challenge card, and may not use it. Additionally, Chronos may call "time travel" on the subsequent play. In another example, if Skeptic doubts Insect will win, Insect may also doubt Skeptic will win, causing the losses to be doubled twice (or tripled).

    The Super Insect has total flexibility. If he wants to go first, no problem. He flashes the Flare and goes ahead. If he wants to go second, he simply waits for his opponent to go first (flashing the Flare if he is the offensive player and would normally go first) and then follows him. Even if the opponent doesn't use his power when he has the chance, the Super Insect can then go ahead and use it anyway since it is still 'before' his opponent has used his power. Finally, the Super Insect isn't forced to use the power if his opponent does and the Insect has declared he will do so afterwards. The Flare specifies he 'may' use the power and affects only the timing of his option, not his free will to decide. (Besides, it's more fun that way, and you don't get to be a Super Insect very often.)

    The Wild Insect must be discarded despite the Keeper. (Eon style)

    Insect vs. Butler: defensive player performs for the offensive player.

    Insect w/ Wild Calculator vs. Calculator: The precedent by which the Insect's use of the Power Calculator and the Flare Calculator is determined is by the order in which he plays them.


    When against the Miser, the Miser chooses which hand is lased.

    May use the Wild Magnet to have cards separated from those to be lased.

    Selects only the first of the Deuce's cards.

    Laser's opponent may play a Kicker before the Laser draws a Challenge Card for him to play. The Laser Wild Flare also forces, by implication, the victim to select his Kicker, if any, before asing for allies.

    The Wild Lloyd does NOT need money to spend money.

    The Wild Lloyd MAY be used to pay, for example, the Extortionist or the Ethic, whose powers aren't such that you're explicitly "required" to pay them.

    If the Witch makes the Flare Loser into something else, it CAN be discarded.

    A zapped Super Loser does NOT lose a base, as the Flare Loser isn't considered to enter his hand.

    If an upset has been called, BOTH the Deuce's cards must be attacks, if possible. (Likewise, I would rule that if the Witch made the Flare Loser into something else for more than one player, and it moved from one of the cursed players' hands to another's during the spell, the recipient would not be affected.)

    If a tie occurs in an upset challenge, offense wins.

    If the Loser wins with a Compromise, he collects no consolation, as no tokens were lost. (Likewise for his opponent).

    Players may play Kickers after the Loser has declared an upset and before playing Challenge Cards.

    CAN be stopped by Wild Pacifist.

    The Machine's Timegash is only good for one challenge.

    When the Wild Machine makes you stack your hand, you don't have to let people see how many non-challenge cards you have if you're sufficiently dexterous.

    Kickers are stacked with challenge cards when you're stacking.

    If cards are to be drawn from a stacked hand, he may NOT shuffle in his challenge cards, but should put his non-challenge cards on either or both ends. (He should be able to stick in his non-challenge cards; let it be drawn from, and restack.)

    Yes, the Macron IS mandatory, and can't bring more than one token into the cone.

    The Crystal can force the Macron to bring 1-4 tokens.

    Moon Boon is worth 5 to the Macron; Mini Mac Moon makes his tokens worth 2.

    Alternate version of the Macron

    Wild Magnet can stop an Edict, Flare or Kicker,.but it must be a specific one, e.g. Cosmic Zap. and can be circumvented in its attempt to prevent a player from playing a compromise by the Wild Mesmer, as it can repel either the Wild Mesmer or the compromise, but not both.

    May change edicts into "play at any time" edicts and use them even when there is a lien on his hand.

    When a player tries to use a Wild Flare at the same time the Super Mesmer does (e.g. Wild Dictator) conflict resolution rules are in effect.

    Yes, the Wild Mesmer can circumvent the Wild Magnet, which may dictate that a player can't play a compromise or that he can't play the Wild Mesmer, but not both.

    May NOT look at the Miser's horde.


    Reverses digits before figuring the effect of Kickers.

    Miser's horded hand is determined before cards are dealt out -- no picking between the two.

    Chooses which hand Laser lases.

    No conflict with a 6-player game if you have all the expansion sets. (Eon style)

    Mind can NOT look at the Miser's horde.

    The Miser's hoard but not his hand is immune to the Extortionist.

    Super mutant discards the Flare Mutant when its used.

    If decider is specific in his decision, he may make a different decision, if general, he may not.

    If the Negator is caught Wild Filching, he may negate a player's decision to catch him.

    Yes, the Negator can negate another's decision to pass upon flipping his own color, and could negate the decision of a player attacking in the player's own system as to which color to attack.

    A 'Between challenges' event comes at the end of the previous challenge, so certainly the Negator can affect those events.

    The Flare Oracle, when invoked, is shuffled in, too.

    The Oracle does NOT look at his opponent's kicker.

    Against Deuce, only his first card is seen.

    Wild Pacifist CAN stop Machine.

    No, the Pacifist does NOT collect consolation when he wins with a Compromise; he loses no tokens.

    A player isn't considered to have lost his power due to the Wild Reincarnator, nor does a Wild Witch user ever lose his power.

    Yes, a person can use Flare Parasite despite losing his own power(s).

    Other than Moon Base Omega, moons do NOT count for changing the Pentaform's life stage.

    Upon receiving Phantom (even mid-game), invert five tokens from bases and put them on your star. If you lose your power, you cannot use ghost tokens or create more, but you may still convert them to regular tokens by moving them from the star to the cone.

    The Philanthropist CAN give away the card the Visionary told him to play.

    Pirate victims can use most challenge affecting powers (e.g. Mind, Chronos, Seeker), save those that would be inappropriate (i.e. alliance or token affecting powers (e.g. Virus, Anti-Matter, Macron).

    Yes, he counts his Lucre in a raid. (Or can buy points in Mayfair style).

    Yes, the Wild Pirate can hint. No, if he loses the card the treasure no longer exists. He may choose whether to announce that he is planting the treasure. (Eon style)

    Moons do NOT count for being able to graft.


    One isn't considered to have lost his power due to the Wild Reincarnator.

    Reincarnator must lose before he gets a power.

    The Reincarnator represents a multiple power of sorts, his current incarnation, and his Reincarnator power. Thus, either or both powers could be zapped during one challenge. (It would take two zaps to zap both.) If the Reincarnator is zapped, it doesn't get a new power (or, if it's zapped the first time it loses, it doesn't get one.)

    May include loss of power in victory condition (Keeps itself from victory until it loses its power), and then normal victory rules apply).

    If you want a minimum number of required external bases, set a house rule. (Eon style)

    When the Schizoid's terms become invalid (e.g. the condition was occupy 2 moons, and Vanish eradicates the moons) the game can only be won through the normal conditions upon the Schizoid's loss of his power. And "does not require memory of previous events" allows memory up to and including the beginning of the challenge, so if the condition is 4 bases and plays a Mobius Tubes, a player can win by playing a Tubes and taking his fourth base later that challenge.

    Examples of Schizoid Win Conditions.

    It is legitimate for the Seeker to ask about, for example, "intent to win," (and his victim must answer immediately), but, it is, of course, difficult to prove or disprove "intent to win."

    It is also legitimate to ask "Will you win with a solo victory", and though the victim must attempt to abide by your answer, circumstances beyond your control may force you to break your word.

    MAY ask questions about the Miser's hoard, or the Schizoid's win conditions. SILENCER
    If the Silencer is caught Wild Filching, he may silence a player who attempts to catch him. (Eon style)

    When the Doppleganger is silenced, he must draw from the deck unless a player offers him cards and he accepts. (Eon style)

    The Gambler's card declaration is given despite Silencing (And the Skeptic and Seeker are impotent).

    Powers affected by Silencer.

    The Siren can lure even if her color was flipped.

    If more than one of the cards the Wild Siren lured is drawn, she gets all of them.

    Offensive Skeptic can't doubt in a moon challenge (as card specifies "planet").

    Yes, the Super Skeptic may put at risk more tokens than he has out of the Warp.

    Sniveler "bases" can either be home, foreign, or combined.

    Against Deuce, only Deuce's first card may be switched.

    No, the Sorcerer does NOT switch kickers.

    Can plant bombs on moons.

    A Cosmic Zap stops a Terrorist Bomb! (Even if the terrorist is out of the game)

    A Cosmic Zap also stops the Terrorist from planting more bombs, for a challenge.

    Yes, the Terrorist can (and must) set off his own bombs.

    Terrorist Paper.

    Yes, with Trader vs. Vulch, the following scenario is possible: "Trader Plagues Machine. Vulch picks up Plague. Trader plays Finder on Plague, and Plagues Machine again. Vulch picks up Plague and Finder. Trader trades hands with the Vulch and Plagues Machine. Vulch picks up the Plague and the Trader finds it again. He now plagues Machine for the fourth time. Vulch picks it up, and Plagues Machine himself."

    Trader may only trade once per challenge.

    The Wild Vaccuum gets two tokens if two attack cards were played.

    Because power loss is immediate upon the loss of the third base, the Vaccuum can't suck tokens corresponding to those he lost defending his third base.

    Yes, the Super Vacuum CAN prevent a win if it's fast enough.

    The Wild Flare is not meant to restrict the player to a planet base; you may switch tokens with a player on a moon base.

    Yes, the Visionary CAN tell the Chronos what to play the second time around.

    "At the appropriate time(s)" means that the vision is cancelled if the victim loses the card, even due to Philanthropic gift.

    Against Deuce, the side card MAY be perceived.

    Has no power over Kickers, and he specifies which Challenge Card his opponent must play AFTER players have committed themselves on playing Kickers.


    The Zombie IS exempt from the Void.

    Despite the fact that the Force could conceivably get a player with > 15 eradicated tokens back into the game, unless the Force acts immediately, he IS out of the game. The bases [in the eradicated player's system] remain but have no further challenge possibilities against the Void.

    The Wild Flare was not intended to take out only planets. You may take a moon out of the game instead.

    The Wild Vulch vs. the Vulch CAN create an 'endless' loop if the Vulch offers an edict, the Wild Vulch refuses it and discards it; the Vulch picks it up; the Vulch offers an edict... One of them has to give up. (Eon style)

    The Vulch CAN pick up a rebirth and play it immediately (between challenges).

    The Vulch CAN play any other edict immediately upon picking it up (if it can be played).

    Yes, with Trader vs. Vulch, the following scenario is possible: "Trader Plagues Machine. Vulch picks up Plague. Trader plays Finder on Plague, and Plagues Machine again. Vulch picks up Plague and Finder. Trader trades hands with the Vullch and Plagues Machine. Vulch picks up the Plague and the Trader finds it again. He now plagues Machine for the fourth time. Vulch picks it up, and Plagues Machine himself."

    Yes, Warpish gets moons.

    Experience points, when used, do NOT go away.


    An alteration to the Wild Loser is binding, and if it's turned into something else, it can be discarded normally.

    The Wild Witch holder is never considered to have lost his power.

    When the Super Witch loses his power, he becomes the Wild Witch, which restores his power, and makes him the Super Witch again. He can use the Flare like this every challenge. (Eon style)

    When witch is zapped, all active curses cease.

    Witch's curses affect Deuce's side card as appropriate.

    Examples of Witch Curses.

    The Wild Worm can't be used to move another's tokens.

    The Worm can't point the cone at a moon in his system; the power specifies planet.

    The Worm CAN reposition the cone where his opponent already has a base (so long as the worm has a base there too).

    If a defensive Wrack tortures the offender out of the cone, he's used up his tortures and loses, the offender doesn't get a base, having no tokens with which to occupy. It is considered a successful challenge regardless.

    Yes, the Wild Wrack can "turn off" a mandatory power. It's like a ransomable zap.

    If the defensive Wrack tortures all of the offender's challenge cards out of his hand, the offender's turn ends immediately. If this is done on the Wrack's last torture, the offender wins and occupies, but his turn still ends.

    The Wild Wrack automatically becomes unusable after challenge resolution, as there will be zero tokens in the cone. (Presumably any time the defender against an Offensive Wrack ran out of challenge cards, he'd draw a new hand.)

    No, the Wrack may not change his deal offer between tortures.

    IS exempt from the Void.

    DOES get consolation despite not losing tokens to the Warp. (He loses tokens, just not to the Warp.)

    The Zombie is relatively immune to the Wild Wrack, as he loses tokens to other bases instead of the warp, so won't lose his power due to it.

    Alternate Theory:
    Zombie VS Void (and similar powers)

    Zombie's tokens never go to the Warp, but Void eradicates a player's tokens instead of going to the Warp. So, which one affects the other, if at all? The wording of the powers themselves leaves a certain amount of ambiguity. The same is true of powers like Fungis and Vampire. A possible solution exists below:

    In all cases of timing conflicts (when two players invoke contradictory special effects simultaneously) between Alien Powers, Flares, Edicts, or so on, resolution takes place as follows. Any players who are not main players go first, starting with the player to the left of the offensive player and proceeding clockwise, then the offensive player and finally the defensive player.

    Therefore, if we are to invoke the new interpretation for situations like "Zombie, Void, Fungus, Vampire"- the player who's tokens go to the warp, or are otherwise manipulated in some way would depend on where they are in the challenge. Any power that can affect tokens as an Ally would get first dibs, starting of course, with the player left of the offensive player, and moving around the board clockwise. Then, if there are tokens left, the Offensive player would go next (In Void vs Zombie, if the Void is offensive, Zombie loses tokens- but if the Zombie is the offensive main player, and lost the challenge, the tokens are NOT voided). Finally, if there are tokens remaining, the Defensive Main Player may invoke his or her power effects.

    It should be noted that the Singularity Reverse Hex specifically mentions that Zombie tokens are captured by the Singularity, even though it also states that tokens go into the Singularity instead of the Warp.


    You MAY Cosmic Zap yourself to use the Wild Flare of a Super you hold.

    You MAY play "play at any time" edicts even when there is a lien on your hand.

    There is no limit to the number of times an edict can be played during a challenge. A player can play and discard an edict, the Vulch may pick it up and play it, the Vulch's opponent, the Insect may pick it up, etc.

    May not be used to find a kicker that's been played down; may not be kept when it finds the Clone Flare.

    Requires players to also use moon effects, and all of their powers in a multi-power game.

    Allows you to also hold on to Kickers, Reinforcements (Subterfuge, Theurgy, etc).

    Also forces a player to lose a Kicker, Reinforcement (Subterfuge, Theurgy, etc).

    As it must be played before a player's opportunity to take a token out of the Warp or play a Break or Tubes, if a player has no more than one token on all his bases, he would have to vacate a base to play a Rebirth.

    Should be played before the flip of the disc (or Destiny pile).

    Also voids moon effects, and limits each player to using only one power in a multi-power game.

    Stellar Gas:
    Stops even the Ethic's consolation.

    When played by Machine is still only good for one challenge.

    Un Zap
    The Un Zap card is clearly a "zap" card, and therefore should be able to zap another Un Zap card. The Edict Zap specifies that it can not effect other zap cards, such as Cosmic Zap, or Flare Zap (however, this rule in itself seems pretty silly, as there are so many zap edicts, and this renders the Edict Zap useful against a mere portion of the edicts). However, with this in mind, this leaves no other card that can cancel the effects of an Un Zap, except the Un Zap itself. Therefore, we allow the Un Zap to zap other Un Zaps (and when no one is being overly nitpicky, we also allow the Edict Zap to do the same thing- just don't tell).

    Victory Boon:
    If played after an attack with the Wild Demon, only the defensive player picked is rewarded. Can be played before or after consolation.


    You may NOT "cycle" Immediate (Intermittent) moons, i.e., attack it with tokens removed from the same moon for the attack, and gain its effect again. You may reoccupy a moon to regain its effects on the challenge AFTER it was vacated.

    If you flip your own color, you may automatically land on a vacant moon, just as you would a vacant moon in any other system.

    Moon Boon:
    Can be put in the cone; only counts as 1 of 4 tokens, but is still worth 5, even to the Macron

    Big Bang:
    Lucre does not precipitate it.

    Mini Mac Moon:
    Worth 2 even to Macron.


    If he holds a Comet in his special hand, he can apply it to any challenge.

    Compiled by Mark Amidon and Jack Reda